Meet Tammy
avatar

I am thrilled to be joining the group of gals at here Polyface Henhouse. I am sure I will have plenty to blog about as the farming life is completely new to me! I grew up in Northern Virginia and have a Creative Writing degree from Virginia Commonwealth University. Following college, I found myself in marketing, working for an international financial firm and then a global energy services consulting company. After a short stint as a recruiter for alternative energy companies, I felt called to stay home to be a full time mom. My husband John interned at Polyface this past summer 2013 and together we are managing Briarmoore Farm. We are a family of 4 with Nicolaus (5) and Carleigh (3) and are expecting another girl in April. I am excited to begin this  farming adventure with my husband and cannot wait to see what God has in store for us in the coming years.

So, to answer a few questions :

1. What inspires you?
My children, people who follow their dreams, a good book or verse

2. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
If I were asked this 5 years ago, never would I have imagined I’d be moving my family to manage a farm with my husband for Polyface! The best answer is I see myself where God wants my husband and me to live out his plan for us.

3. What is one of your most fulfilling hobbies?
Knitting and crocheting gifts for babies

4. What do you like to cook/favorite foods?
I love trying new recipes, but I would have to say baking chocolate chip cookies with my kids for our family to enjoy. Who doesn’t love a chocolate chip cookie?

5. What relaxes you after a long day of farming?
Spending time talking with my husband while working on a knitting or crochet project. Admittedly I love TV but haven’t the time for it. My favorite shows include Downton Abbey, Call the Midwife and Parenthood.

6. How do you deal with farm animal deaths?
Death in general is part of God’s plan. Every part of our lives (and an animal’s life) serves a purpose.

“For everything there is a season,
    a time for every activity under heaven.
 A time to be born and a time to die.
    A time to plant and a time to harvest.” Ecclesiastes 3: 1-4

7. Who do you hope to share farming skills with?
Anyone who wants to as long as they are patient with me as I learn too!

8. What do you like to read?
Anything good, but some of my favorites include Shakespeare, Hemingway, Fitzgerald, the Bible and as a family we are enjoying the books by Laura Ingalls Wilder

9. What is your greatest asset?
Empathy

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Did you like this? Share it:

About Tammy Pedersen

Tammy is married to John Pedersen, manager of Briarmoore and Grass Stain Tour extraordinaire. She is blessed to be able to stay at home with her three children. When not busy with farming and homeschool, Tammy can be found with knitting needles or crochet hook in hand, reading or writing. Someday she hopes to combine her love of travel with mission work.
TammyPermalink

9 Responses to Meet Tammy

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Welcome Tammy! We here at Didaskalos Farm in SC will be praying for you to learn much and share much and be an all around blessing in this small world. Proverbs 3:5-6

  2. Kristin says:

    Thanks for sharing about yourself! I’ll look forward to reading your posts. My family loves farming, too!

  3. Priscilla says:

    I asked before if families with young children can intern, and was told it is too much of a liability. Can just a husband intern while the family lives with relatives for a time? The idea seems extremely difficult, but worth it in the end.

    • Tammy Pedersen says:

      Priscilla,
      My husband and I worked very hard to save living expenses for the 4 months he interned with Polyface. Luckily we completed Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace a few years ago so we were in a position to be able to do that. It was very difficult being separated for the summer, but certainly worth it for us.

      • Priscilla Longworth says:

        We’ve been helped so much by Dave Ramsey’s classes as well! What a small world! We live in Texas, so the statement about living with relatives was more about being close to Polyface, than it was an issue of finances. 🙂 But maybe living far a away would be better in this case, so as to not disrupt the cadence of the internship? I’d like to ask more questions privately about how you did this, if I may.

  4. Olivia Persinger says:

    Welcome! Can’t wait to meet you!

  5. daniheaphy says:

    Tammy,
    Thanks for sharing! How did you manage doing a complete career change with 2 kids?! I’d love to know. My husband and I have two kids, live in NoVA, and have contemplated farming, but it would mean a complete career change for my husband and it seems sooo difficult! THanks!
    Danielle